The delegates were assisted by senior Government officials, including Mr. N. A. Robertson, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Mr. H. H. Wrong, Associate Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Mr. L. B. Pearson, Canadian Ambassador at Washington; Mr. L. D. Wilgress, Canadian Ambassador at Moscow; Mr. W. F. Chipman, Canadian Ambassador to Chile; Mr. Jean Désy, Canadian Ambassador to Brazil; Major-General M. A. Pope, Military Staff Officer to the Prime Minister; and a staff of experts and advisers.

The Charter of the United Nations

The primary purpose of the United Nations is "to maintain international peace and security, and to that end: to take effective collective measures for the prevention and removal of threats to the peace, and for the suppression of acts of aggression, or other breaches of the peace, and to bring about by peaceful means, and in conformity with the principles of justice and international law, adjustment or settlement of international disputes or situations which might lead to a breach of the peace." The United Nations is also intended to achieve international cooperation in solving international problems of an economic, social, cultural or humanitarian character and in promoting respect for human rights and for fundamental freedoms for all, without distinctions as to race, sex, language or religion.

The fundamental principles of the United Nations are the sovereign equality of all its Members, the pledge by each Member to refrain in its international relations from the threat or use of force against the territorial integrity or political independence of any State, and the undertaking by all Members to settle their international disputes by peaceful means in such a manner that international peace and security, and justice, are not endangered.

Organs of the United Nations

The Charter provides for the setting up of six principal organs of the United Nations: the General Assembly, where all Members are represented and have an equal vote; the Security Council of eleven members, five of which are permanent members-China, France, the U.S.S.R., the United Kingdom and the United States—and six are non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years; the Economic and Social Council composed of eighteen members chosen for three-year terms by the General Assembly, all members being nonpermanent; the Trusteeship Council, composed of the five permanent members of the Security Council, of all Members of the United Nations administering trust territories, and of a sufficient number of non-permanent members which do not administrate trust territories, Jected by the General Assembly, to ensure that onehalf of the Council is always composed of members which do not administer trust territories; the International Court of Justice with headquarters at The Hague, composed of fifteen judges elected by the Security Council and the General Assembly in concurrent ballots; and a Secretariat in charge of a Secretary-General appointed by the General Assembly upon the nomination of the Security Council.

Preparations for the General Assembly

In August, 1945, the fourteen nations, including Canada, which constituted the Executive Committee of the San Francisco Conference met at London, England, to make detailed preparations for the first meeting of the organs of the United